Skip to contentSkip to navigation

Commissioner Michelle Derusseau - 3rd District (Vice Chair)

Commissioner Michelle Derusseau represents the 3rd District on the Douglas County Commission and serves as Vice Chair. Four-year term of office expires in January 2021.

Michelle grew up in Shawnee, Kansas, and moved to Lawrence in 1982 to attend the University of Kansas. She has an Associate of General Studies degree from Johnson County Community College and a Certificate of Human Resources from the University of Missouri St. Louis. Michelle has three decades of civic engagement in Douglas County for many organizations including the American Red Cross, United Way, Junior Achievement, Douglas County Valor First Responder Awards Chairman and Lawrence Police Foundation President.

Michelle represents the 3rd District where she and her husband, Ron, live in the Wakarusa Township. Her goal as county commissioner is to ensure an equal voice for both rural and urban voters, to make informed, unbiased and responsible decisions, and to be a good steward of taxpayer dollars. She is focused on bipartisanship as the Commission works together to meet the needs of citizens and plan for the future.

The townships of Clinton, Kanwaka, Lecompton, Marion, Wakarusa (western & northern) and Willow Springs which include the communities of Big Springs, Clinton, Globe,  Lakeview, western Lawrence, Lecompton, Lone Star, Pleasant Grove, Stull and Worden.

County Commission Districts in the City of Lawrence Map

County Commission Districts Map

Please feel free to contact Commissioner Derusseau at