Skip to contentSkip to navigation

Disaster Response

Disaster Response
Providing disaster response to citizens of Douglas County, Kansas.

Floodplain Management

Douglas County is a participant in the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) administered by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). This program provides subsidized flood insurance for all property owners, provided that the local government institutes adequate land use and development control measures for preventing and reducing property damage from flooding. In addition, Douglas County must ensure that projects within the floodplain comply with FEMA regulations and the Douglas County Zoning and Land Use Regulations. Douglas County participates in the Community Rating System (CRS).
Subscribe to Disaster Response