Skip to content Skip to navigation

Commission Board Meeting on Wed, May 23, 2018 - 4:00 PM

Meeting Agenda: 

4:00 p.m.

(1) (a)     Consider approval of Commission Orders; 
 (b)    Consider approval to purchase body scanner (Stacy Simmons)

(2) Consider approval of Telecommunicating Policy for Douglas County Personnel (Lucas Neece)

(3) (a)    Consider approval of Accounts Payable (if necessary)   
 (b)    Appointments   
-Board of Zoning Appeals (1) positions 10/17
-Building Code of Appeals Board (2) positions 12/16
-Community Corrections Advisory Board (1) position  
-JAAA Advisory Council (2) position
-JAAA Board of Directors (1) position
(c)  Public Comment 
(d)   Miscellaneous

(4)  Adjourn

Related Document(s): 
Meeting Location: 
County Courthouse
Street Address: 
1100 Massachusetts Street, Lawrence, KS 66044
Meeting Minutes: 

May 23, 2018

Thellman called the regular meeting to order at 4:00 p.m. on Wednesday, May 23, 2018 with all members present.

Thellman moved approval of the following Consent Agenda:
►  Commission Order Nos. 18-024 and 18-025 on file in the office the County Clerk);

Motion was seconded by Derusseau and carried 3-0.

Pulled from the agenda:
The Board considered the approval of a body scanner for the Douglas County Jail. Captain Stacy Simmons stated the machine is a low dose x-ray machine for the correctional facility to help defer and detect contraband entering and leaving the facility. 

Derusseau asked for clarification that this is for inmates, not visitors. Simmons said that is correct. 

Thellman said this is not the lowest bid. Simmons said the Sheriff’s office looked at three companies. Two of the three machines she observed at other facilities were broken. The machine she is looking at has ongoing training for officers as long as we own the machine. The customer service with the proposed company is top notch.

Thellman opened the item for public comment. No comment was received.

Thellman moved to approve a contract with Vitual Imaging for whole body
security scanning system for the jail in the amount of $185,000. Motion was seconded by Derusseau and carried 3-0.

Lucas Neece, Management Intern, asked the Commission to consider the approval of a county-wide Telecommuting Policy to be included in the County’s Personnel Policies. Telecommuting is an alternative work arrangement available to qualifying County employees. The goal of this policy is to improve overall productivity, make optimal use of county office facilities and equipment, provide department heads with an additional tool as they manage their employees; improve employee satisfaction and retention, and improve the capacity of County staff to do the work of the County. There is certain criteria that interested employees must meet.

Discussion included the cost to the County. Most employees that would be eligible for working at home already have a laptop and a PC. Worker’s Compensation would cover someone getting hurt while working at home, and there are already several employees that occasionally do work from home. If approved, the Board said they would keep an eye on this policy as it is new.

Thellman opened the item for public comment. No comment was received.

After discussion, Thellman moved to approve the Telecommunicating Policy. Motion was seconded by Gaughan and carried 3-0.
Thellman moved to approve payroll in the amount of $295,789.59 to be paid on 05/2418; and payroll in the amount of 1,013,611.60 to be paid on 05/25/18. Motion was seconded by Gaughan and carried 3-0.

The Board discussed and confirmed a location for a public listening session on May 30 at 7:00 p.m. in Building 21 at the County Fairgrounds to give citizens an opportunity to comment on the mental health and jail issues. This is not the last opportunity for public comment on these issues.

Thellman moved to adjourn the meeting. Motion was seconded by Derusseau and carried 3-0.

____________________________  ____________________________
 Nancy Thellman, Chair                    Michelle Derusseau, Vice-Chair
 ___________________________  _____________________________  
Jamie Shew, County Clerk                Mike Gaughan, Member