Skip to content Skip to navigation

Commission Board Meeting on Wed, April 11, 2018 - 4:00 PM

Meeting Agenda: 

4:00 p.m.
-Proclamation for “National Public Safety Telecommunicator’s Week” (Rich Bar)

(1) (a)  Consider approval of Commission Orders;
(b) Consider approval of changes to the Capitalized Assets (Fixed Assets) section of the financial policy (Marni Penrod)

(2) Update on Peer Support and the Integrated Crisis Team at Lawrence Memorial Hospital (Bob Tryanski and Sarah Plinsky) – No back up

(3) (a) Consider approval of Accounts Payable (if necessary)  
 (b) Appointments  
-Board of Zoning Appeals (1) positions 10/17
-Building Code of Appeals Board (2) positions 12/16
-Community Corrections Advisory Board (1) position 
-JAAA Advisory Council (2) position
-JAAA Board of Directors (1) position
 (c)  Public Comment
(d) Miscellaneous

(4) Adjourn

Related Document(s): 
Meeting Location: 
County Courthouse
Street Address: 
1100 Massachusetts St, Lawrence, KS 66044, USA
Meeting Minutes: 

April 11, 2018

Thellman called the regular meeting to order at 4:00 p.m. on Wednesday, April 11, 2018 with all members present.

Thellman read and moved to approve a proclamation for “National Public Safety Telecommunicator’s Week” for April 8-14, 2018. Motion was seconded by Gaughan and carried 3-0.
Thellman moved approval of the following Consent Agenda:
►  Commission Order Nos. 18-017, and 18-018 on file in the office of the County Clerk); and
►  Authorized staff to update the Douglas County Financial Policy Capitalized Assets section of the financial policy in two places: 1) Change the threshold amount to $5,000; and 2) Remove the software requirement.
Motion was seconded by Derusseau and carried 3-0.

Bob Tryanski, Behavioral Health Coordinator, updated the Board on the status of the Peer Support and the Integrated Crisis Team. Other care coordinators present for the meeting were: Bill Welch, Josh Reece and Derek Hurst with the Peer Support Team; Amy Warren, Bert Nash; and Stacey Cooper, Mary Jackson and Jason Hess, RADAC.

Tryanski stated the challenge for our area is we have places in our community where people end up in crisis cycling in and out of jail, the shelter and the emergency room. Tryanski stated by forming an Integrated Crisis Team, we can serve people by meeting patients where they are 24/7 and providing intervention and consultation that will assure better outcomes. They can help those who show up at the ER to improve care coordination, transition and follow-up. This team can provide an effective connection to primary care and outpatient services which in return should reduce return visits to the emergency department and maintain community tenure.

Derek Hurst, Director of the Integrated Crisis Team, stated we are looking to do what is most trauma informed by focusing on giving good care, showing concern and taking care of immediate needs.

Peer Support was brought in by Bert Nash. It provides support by developing and maintaining trust from a shared experience. The team will be housed at Bert Nash which is located across from the hospital. Peer Support is only a few steps away and will provide experts in navigating the system because they understand how the organizations work and can connect patients to other resources.

Thellman moved to approve payroll in the amount of $662,115.49 to be paid on 04/12/18. Motion was seconded by Derusseau and carried 3-0.

Barbara Palmer, Justice Matters, stated she agrees with everything that we just presented and supports it all.
Thellman moved to adjourn the meeting. Motion was seconded by Derusseau and carried 3-0.

____________________________  ____________________________
 Nancy Thellman, Chair                     Michelle Derusseau, Vice-Chair
 ____________________________  _____________________________  
Jamie Shew, County Clerk                  Mike Gaughan, Member