Skip to content Skip to navigation

Commission Board Meeting on Wed, March 7, 2018 - 4:00 PM

Meeting Agenda: 



4:00 p.m.

(1) (a)  Consider approval of Commission Orders;
(b) Consider a County Resolution waiving GAAP procedures by the Board of County Commissioners of Douglas County, Kansas (Brooke Sauer)

(2)  Consider approval of a joint resolution with the City of Lawrence to support permanent housing as part of the mental health crisis campus administered by the Lawrence Douglas County Housing Authority. (Sarah Plinsky)

(3) (a) Consider approval of Accounts Payable (if necessary)  
(b) Appointments  
-Board of Zoning Ap-peals (1) positions 10/17
-Building Code of Appeals Board (2) positions 12/16
-Community Corrections Advisory Board (1) position 
-Senior Services Board of Directors (1) position
-JAAA Advisory Council (2) position
-JAAA Board of Directors (1) position
-Fire District No. 1 (1) position
-Health Board (1) position
 (c)  Public Comment
(d) Miscellaneous

(4) Adjourn

Related Document(s): 
Meeting Location: 
County Courthouse
Street Address: 
1100 Massachusetts Street, Lawrence, Kansas 66044
Meeting Minutes: 

March 7, 2018

Thellman called the regular meeting to order at 4:00 p.m. on Wednesday, March 7, 2018 with all members present.

Thellman moved approval of the following Consent Agenda:
►  Commission Order Nos. 18-012 and 18-013 on file in the office of the    County Clerk); and
►  Resolution 18-06 waiving the GAAP procedures by the Board of County Commissioners of Douglas County Kansas for 2018; and

Motion was seconded by Derusseau and carried 3-0.

Thellman moved to approve a Joint Resolution 18-07/City Resolution 7245, authorizing an exception to the Lawrence-Douglas County Housing Authority authorizing resolution 00-26/6240 for the Tier III Housing Project giving Douglas County ownership of real property located in the City of Lawrence, commonly known as 146 Maine Street and 1000 West 2nd Street; and legally described as Lots 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47 and 48 in Block No. 5 in that part of the City of Lawrence known as West Lawrence, Douglas County, Kansas; and Lot 2 of the Bert Nash Addition, Lawrence, Douglas County, Kansas.  Motion was seconded by Gaughan and carried 3-0.

Mike Brouwer, Director of the re-entry program, gave a preliminary announcement regarding the Stepping Up recognition. Douglas County is one of eight counties in the nation invited by the National Association of Counties to be a stepping up Innovator County. This designation is part of the National Association of Counties’ Stepping Up initiative aiming to reduce the number of people incarcerated with a mental illness.  Douglas County is being recognized for their initiatives programs that include the behavioral health court, pretrial release program, pilot program to divert women from jail and into substance abuse treatment and counseling, and the Lawrence Police Department’s co-responder program that allows for a behavioral health professional to accompany officers to calls involving someone with a mental health issue.

Thellman moved to approve payroll in the amounts of $738,121.18 to be paid on 03/08/18, and $1,725,617.04 paid on 03/01/18. Motion was seconded by Gaughan and carried 3-0.
Thellman moved to adjourn the meeting. Motion was seconded by Gaughan
and carried 2-0.

____________________________  ____________________________
 Nancy Thellman, Chair                     Michelle Derusseau, Vice-Chair
 ____________________________  _____________________________  
Jamie Shew, County Clerk                 Mike Gaughan, Member