Skip to contentSkip to navigation

Info 211

How Do I...


Commission Board Meeting on Fri, February 28, 2003 - 9:00 AM

Meeting Information: 

  • Canvass city & school primary elections
Related Document(s): 
Meeting Location: 
County Courthouse
Street Address: 
1100 Massachusetts St, Lawrence, KS 66044, USA
Meeting Minutes: 

The Board of County Commissioners of Douglas County, Kansas met in special session on Friday, February 28, 2003 with all members present. The purpose of the special meeting was to canvass the results of the City/School Primary Election which was held on Tuesday, February 25, 2003. Chairman Johnson called the special meeting to order at 9:05 A.M. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Patty Jaimes, County Clerk, reported there were one hundred forty-four (144) provisional ballots. Jaimes made the recommendation that the Board count one hundred ten (110) of the provisional ballots. These were cast by voters that either moved and failed to re-register or had a name change. Jaimes then recommended that the remaining thirty-four (34) not be counted, twenty-two (22) of which lacked signatures and the remaining twelve (12) were first time registrants. Jones made a motion that the Board approve Jaimes' recommendations. McElhaney seconded, and the motion carried unanimously.

It should be noted that after the additional ballots were counted, the election results were not changed and no errors were found.

Sheriff Trapp presented a Supplement to H.T.E., Inc. Software License and Services Agreement by and between H.T.E., Inc. and Douglas County, Kansas. Trapp explained that this contract was necessary in order to finalize the contract for the purchase mobile data units in the amount of $38,000 which was budgeted out of the 911 Fee Funds. Jones made a motion to authorize the Sheriff to execute the contract between H.T.E., Inc. and Douglas County. Motion was seconded by McElhaney and carried unanimously.

Johnson moved for adjournment, McElhaney seconded and the motion carried unanimously.

______________________________ ________________________________
Bob Johnson, Chair                                 Jere McElhaney, Member


______________________________ ________________________________
Patty Jaimes, County Clerk                     Charles Jones, Member