Skip to contentSkip to navigation

Info 211

How Do I...


Who We Are

Our Mission

The Heritage Conservation Council of Douglas County promotes the conservation of our cultural and natural heritage to honor our past, enrich our present, and inspire our future. They make recommendations to the Douglas County Commission on how to best establish a framework to conserve our natural & cultural heritage for future generations and to enhance economic benefits of tourism, local agriculture, and other endeavors based on such conservation efforts. 

The Heritage Conservation Coucil works to:

  1. Ensure the conservation of the County’s natural and cultural resources.
  2. Identify, conserve and promote the County's natural resources, prehistoric, historic and cultural heritage through ongoing surveys and studies of natural and cultural heritage resources.
  3. Implement the strategies and goals identified for the protection, development and utilization of heritage resources as defined in the County Comprehensive Plan.
  4. Foster civic pride and promote tourism, particularly as related to the natural resources, pre-settlement history, settlement history, and the themes encompassed in Freedom’s Frontier National Heritage Area.
  5. Work in concert with the State Historic Preservation Officer and observe the State Preservation Act.
  6. Support education programs to increase public awareness of and support for the County’s historic environment.
The purpose of the Council is to ensure the conservation of Douglas County's natural and cultural resources.
Toward this end, the council will:
  1. Administer the Douglas County Natural and Cultural Heritage Grant program.
  2. Monitor the ongoing inventory of natural and cultural resources.
  3. Pursue the designation of Douglas County as a Certified Local Government (CLG).
  4. Adopt its own operational procedures.
  5. Carry out any other task assigned by the Douglas County Commission.

Heritage Conservation Council

Amy Van de Riet, Chair, Survey and Certified Local Government Committees
Jenny Trucano Muller, Vice Chair, Communications Committee
Mike Delaney, Certified Local Government Committee
Roger Boyd, Survey Committee
Lindsay Crick, Certified Local Government Committee
Patti Beedles, Communications Committee
Nicholaus Pumphrey, Survey Committee
The HCC generally meets the first Thursday of each month at 7pm via Zoom. Anyone is welcome to attend these public meetings. 
Zoom Meeting Info: 
Meeting ID: 962 3408 0900
Passcode: 521006
+1 312 626 6799 US (Chicago)

Upcoming HCC Meetings & Events 

September 1 at 7pm-  HCC Monthly Meeting via Zoom (see link above)

October 6 at 7pm-  HCC Monthly Meeting via Zoom (see link above)

October 22 at 9am- HCC Annual Retreat at Winter School House in Lecompton.  

November 3HCC Monthly Meeting (time and location TBD)

December 1HCC Monthly Meeting (time and location TBD)



Kaitlin Stanley
Heritage Conservation Coordinator
1006 New Hampshire Street 
Lawrence, KS 66044

Related Documents

For more information about the establishment of the HCC and the Statement of Purpose see the Douglas County Code Chapter 14: Heritage Conservation Plan and the resources below:

Natural Cultural Heritage Taskforce Final Report (PDF format)     

HCC Resolution 11-19 (PDF format)

 *14-103. The Heritage Conservation Plan is designed to be used in the unincorporated territory of Douglas County, Kansas and is to be used in conjunction with any existing zoning regulations. (HR-13-11-4)