Skip to contentSkip to navigation

About Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC)

The Local Emergency Planning Committee of Douglas County, Kansas.

In 1986, Congress passed the Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act (SARA) which established a national baseline with regard to planning, response, management and training for hazardous materials emergencies. SARA mandated the establishment of both state and local planning groups to develop and review hazardous materials response plans.

The state planning groups are referred to as the State Emergency Response Commissions (SERC) and are responsible for developing and maintaining the state's emergency response plan.

The Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC) is responsible for developing an emergency plan to prepare for and respond to chemical emergencies within the community. It is the main function of the LEPC to look after community interests in regard to hazardous incidents that may occur there. The LEPC is the coordinating point for both planning and training activities at the local level.

The LEPC also receives emergency release and chemical inventory information submitted by local industrial facilities and makes this information available to the community it serves.

In addition to its formal responsibilities, the LEPC often serves as a focal point for information and discussions about hazardous substances. The LEPC's ability to improve and maintain the safety and health of its community is greatly enhanced by the support of an informed citizenry.

The Douglas County Emergency Management Agency is the local Community Right-to-Know resource for hazardous material information. Anyone desiring information concerning LEPC meetings, SARA Title lll hazardous materials planning which is included in the Douglas County Emergency Operations Plan, materials safety data sheets (MSDS), and hazardous chemical inventory forms listing extremely hazardous substances manufactured, stored, or used within Douglas County can be obtained during normal business hours by contacting Douglas County Emergency Management at 785-832-5259.

All LEPC meetings are on the first Wednesday of the month, at 8:30 a.m. The Executive Committee meets in the EOC at the Law Enforcement Center. The location of the quarterly Board meeting varies. Agenda packets are emailed one week prior to the scheduled meeting and contain information regarding location. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, all meetings are being held virtually.  View meeting information here


Douglas County Emergency Management LEPC Board Membership

Governing Bodies (appointed by governing bodies)
Bob NewtonAppointee of Douglas County Commission
Ken KeiterAppointee of Eudora City Council
Wayne RileyAppointee of Lecompton City Council
Truman "Bud" WaughAppointee of Lawrence City Commission
Rob CulleyAppointee of Baldwin City Council


Emergency Support Functions
Transportation ESF #1
Lane SekavecUnion Pacific Railroad
Richard HaigLawrence Municipal Airport Advisory Board
Emergency Communications ESF #2
Tony FosterEmergency Communications Center
Kevin OneslagerARRL Emergency Coordinator
Public Works & Engineering ESF #3
Chad VoigtDouglas County Public Works
Josh CarsonLawrence Municipal Services and Operations
Tina RakesDouglas County Zoning and Codes
Fire, ESF #4
Mike BaxterFire Chiefs Association, Douglas County Consolidated Fire Distrist #1
Emergency Management ESF #5
Andrew FosterUniversity of Kansas Public Safety
Mass Care, Housing, and Human Services ESF #6
Sarah WickhamAmerican Red Cross Capital Area Chapter
Resource Management ESF #7
Daniel SmithRoger Hill Volunteer Center
Public Health and Medical Services ESF #8
Teri AxmanLawrence Memorial Hospital
Sonia JordanLawrence-Douglas County Health Department
Teya GriglerHeartland Community Health Center
Pat DeaverVisiting Nurses
Hubert WhiteIndian Health Service
Paul BakerLawrence Memorial Hospital
Search & Rescue, ESF #9
Dennis LeslieLawrence-Douglas County Fire Medical
HazMat, ESF #10
Dennis LeslieLawrence-Douglas County Fire Medical
Agriculture/Natural Resources ESF #11
Midge GrinsteadState Animal Response Team
Shannon WellsLawrence Humane Society
Marlin BatesK-State Research and Extension - Douglas County
Energy and Utilities ESF #12
David BellinderBlack Hills Energy
Chris LamarBlack Hills Energy
Allison WetterEvergy
Law Enforcement, ESF #13
Steven BuchholzDouglas County Sheriff's Office
Mike PattrickBaldwin Police Department
Trent McKinleyLawrence Police Department
Chris KearyUniversity of Kansas Public Safety
Public Information ESF #15
Bob NewtonDouglas County Emergency Management
Chemical Preparedness
Cary MansChemTrade
Orlando KinneyHallmark Cards
Kay JohnsonProSoCo
Community Group/Social Service
Steve DevoreHeadquarters Counseling Center
Nicole RialsBert Nash CMHC
Kim MurphreeLDS Church
Matthew FaulkBert Nash CMHC
Jasmin MooreDouglas County & City of Lawrence
Steve SplichalEudora Public Schools
Derek BlandBaldwin Public Schools
Ron MayLawrence Public Schools
Mike RussellUniversity of Kansas
Gary GoombiHaskell Indian Nations University
John StipetichUniversity of Kansas
VacantPerry-Lecompton Public Schools
Facility / Industry
Chris LesserProSoCo
Gordon LeongICL
Shane MunschICL


Officers & Executive Committee Members
Kay Johnson, Chair
Mike Baxter, Vice Chair
Mike Russell
Shane Munsch
Mike Pattrick