Skip to contentSkip to navigation

Major Areas of Responsibility

Major areas of responsibility for the Zoning and Codes Department of Douglas County, Kansas.

Building codes are a minimum set of standards to safeguard life and limb, health, property and public welfare by regulating and controlling the design, construction, quality of materials, use and occupancy, location and maintenance of all buildings except agricultural buildings.

Zoning is the classification of land into districts for the purpose of regulating the use of the land such as placement of buildings, size of buildings, and activities associated with property.

Zoning is the primary means of ensuring that nearby lands are compatible. Douglas County is divided into thirteen (13) separate Zoning Districts.