Skip to contentSkip to navigation

Info 211

How Do I...


Board of Zoning Appeals Members

The Board of Zoning Appeals is comprised of five-members who serve 3-year terms.

Charles Thomas PhotoCharlie grew up in the town of Clinton and later graduated from Lawrence High School. He attended KU for three years, dropped out, and enlisted in the U.S. Air Force, where he was stationed/relocated to the state of Texas. While in Texas, Charlie got married, and received a Bachelor’s and Master’s degree from the University of North Texas. After working as a high school counselor in Texas for 34 years, Charlie and his wife moved back to Douglas County in 2003 and currently reside in Marion Township. “There is not a better place in the county, to proudly live, than in this area of Kansas.”

Richard Barr PhotoRich moved to Lawrence in 1973 from Hoxie, Kansas and attended KU where he received a BS in Systematics and Ecology in 1975 and a MPA in Public Administration in 1989. Rich served on the Lawrence-Douglas County Fire Medical Department. In his 34 years of service, Rich was promoted to Fire Marshall for the City of Lawrence. In 2010, he retired from Fire and Medical and subsequently took a position as the Deputy Director of Douglas County Emergency Communications. He retired from that position in 2019. He has been past chair of the Douglas County Chapter of the American Red Cross, the Kansas State Research and Extension of Douglas County and the Kansas State Research and Extension State Advisory Board. He moved into Clinton Township with his wife Paula and two daughters in 2007. He has been a Board of Zoning Appeals member since 2019.

Scott Eudaly PhotoScott holds a Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering, BSME, and is a fifth generation Douglas County resident.  He is the retired owner of a forklift manufacturing company and has been a member of the Board of Zoning Appeals since 2017.  Scott is experienced in all aspects of residential construction and has carried a plumber's license.  He has also completed several turn-key industrial metal building projects.  Scott likes helping to find creative solutions to tricky problems and has enjoyed working with this Board and County staff.


Jerry Wohletz PhotoJerry and his wife were born and raised in the Kansas City, Kansas area. In 1993, they purchased an 80 acre farm in Douglas County and made that farm their new home in 1996. With his wife and then three young children, they began raising vegetables. In 2006, the family began a strawberry U-pick operation, which was later expanded to include blueberries as well. Jerry and his family have been selling their produce at the Lawrence Farmer’s Market since their operations began, and Jerry himself sets on the Farmers Market Board of Directors. In 2018, Jerry retired from the United Parcel Service after 37 years of service. That same year, he joined the Board of Zoning Appeals.

Phil Metsker PhotoPhil has lived in Douglas County and has farmed in southwest Douglas County most of his life.  He has served on the Farm Bureau Board for 17 years, including being a Board member then President of the Douglas County Farm Bureau for two years, and a Board member and President of the Douglas County Pork Producers for 15+ years. Phil is a lifelong member of the Lone Star Church of the Brethren where he has served as Council Member, Moderator, and now serves as Deacon. Phil currently works as District Sales Manager for Taylor Seed Farms. Phil is a family man who is the proud husband of Debbie, who he has three children and nine grandchildren with. In his free time, Phil enjoys restoring old cars and trucks, and reading about the history of Douglas County and the state of Kansas.