Skip to content Skip to navigation

Zoning and Codes

Integrity and excellence are our standards. It is the mission of the Douglas County Zoning and Codes Department to assist our diverse citizenry in understanding the necessity, and application of Zoning Regulations to land use issues. Additionally, through professional guidance and technical expertise we regulate a buildings design, construction, quality of materials, use/occupancy of property, location and maintenance of buildings, structures and related equipment to insure compliance with all applicable codes.

ZONING & CODES  IS AT A NEW LOCATION

The Douglas County Public Works Department and Zoning & Codes Department has relocated to a new facility at 3755 E. 25th Street, Lawrence, KS 66046. With the new location, we also have new office hours.  After April 23, 2015, our new hours of operation is  Monday – Friday, 8:00 am to 5:00 pm for your convenience.

We look forward to conducting business with you at our new facility.

Our Services

Applications and information for licenses and permits for businesses.

Regulations and fees for businesses.

Agriculturally-based business that brings visitors to a farm or ranch.

Obtain a permit for utility installation and road occupancy.

Documents for Zoning and Codes.

Douglas County’s Floodplain Management Program, administered through the Zoning and Codes Department.

Department Contacts

Name Job Title Phone Number Email Address
Sean Reid Director 785-331-1343 sreid@douglascountyks.org
Tina Rakes Combination Building Inspector 785-331-1343 trakes@douglascountyks.org
Isaac Mallory Combination Building Inspector 785-331-1343 imallory@douglascountyks.org
Tonya Voigt Planning & Zoning Coordinator 785-331-1343 tvoigt@douglascountyks.org
Judy Stone Administration Officer 785-331-1343 jstone@douglascountyks.org
Kanitha Davis-Englebert Administration Officer 785-331-1343 kdavis@douglascountyks.org