Skip to contentSkip to navigation

Truancy Prevention and Diversion Program

The Douglas County truancy program works with truant or pre-truant students who are between grades Kindergarten and 8th grade. Truant older students are currently being supervised by The Shelter Inc.

Students are considered truant if they have:

  • 3 unexcused absences in a row 
  • 5 unexcused absences in a semester
  • 7 unexcused absences in a year
  • Children who have been enrolled in grades Kindergarten - 8th grade.

 

  • To stay out of the court system
  • To learn coping strategies and social skills
  • To  find community agencies to help with family issues
     
  • Interns monitor assigned students attendance and grades
  • Interns meet weekly with students
  • Interns encourage and assist truancy students in completing homework
  • Interns encourage motivation by using behavioral contracts
  • Interns provide weekly progress reports and updates to The Truancy Officer at DCYS
  • DCYS and Interns provide reports to the Douglas County District Attorney’s Office
  • Interns testify in Review Hearings and Child in Need of Care Court proceedings

 

DCYS has coordinated the KU truancy Prevention and Diversion Program since the fall of 2011.
This program is currently funded by Douglas County, the Kansas Department for Children and Families and the Douglas County District Attorney’s Office.

For more information regarding the KU Truancy Program, email CJSYS-Truancy@douglascountyks.org

Department Contacts

Name Job Title Phone Number Email Address
Pam Weigand Director 785-331-1311 pweigand@douglascountyks.org
Leigh Housman Assistant Director - Youth Services 785-331-1314 lhousman@douglascountyks.org
Casey Crane Detention Operations Manager 785-331-1305 ccrane@douglascountyks.org
Paula Rapp Administrative Services Supervisor 785-331-1307 prapp@douglascountyks.org
Robin Rooks Juvenile Services Officer Supervisor 785-331-1306 rrooks@douglascountyks.org
Jennifer Hylton Juvenile Services Officer 785-331-1309 jhylton@douglascountyks.org
Kate Holman Juvenile Services Officer - Truancy 785-331-1308 kholman@douglascountyks.org
Rick West Juvenile Services Officer 785-331-1319 rwest@douglascountyks.org
Megan Thomas Juvenile Services Officer - Juvenile Intake 785-331-1328 mthomas@douglascountyks.org