Skip to contentSkip to navigation

Juvenile Intake Information

Juvenile intake for the Youth Services Department of Douglas County, Kansas.

  • Juvenile Intake is located at DCYS and is staffed by Douglas County employees.
  • Juvenile Intake is on call 24 hours a day for law enforcement officers in juvenile cases. When there is no intake officer on call, one of the on duty Corrections Officers is able to complete the same process.
  • Juvenile Intake also takes appointments between 10:00am and 7:00pm.
  • The main contact person for Juvenile Intake is JSO Megan Thomas.
  • Crisis intervention  for families
  • Referral Services for additional help to families
  • Emergency placement options for children at risk
  • Pre filing Diversion to avoid further court involvement
  • Conditions of Release Supervision and monitoring

 

  • Address: 330 NE Industrial Ln, Lawrence, Kansas 66044
  • Located on south side of building at glass door labeled "Intake".
  • Phone: 785-331-1300
  • Fax 785-331-1304

Department Contacts

Name Job Title Phone Number Email Address
Pam Weigand Director 785-331-1311 pweigand@douglascountyks.org
Leigh Housman Assistant Director - Youth Services 785-331-1314 lhousman@douglascountyks.org
Casey Crane Detention Operations Manager 785-331-1305 ccrane@douglascountyks.org
Paula Rapp Administrative Services Supervisor 785-331-1307 prapp@douglascountyks.org
Robin Rooks Juvenile Services Officer Supervisor 785-331-1306 rrooks@douglascountyks.org
Jennifer Hylton Juvenile Services Officer 785-331-1309 jhylton@douglascountyks.org
Kate Holman Juvenile Services Officer - Truancy 785-331-1308 kholman@douglascountyks.org
Rick West Juvenile Services Officer 785-331-1319 rwest@douglascountyks.org
Megan Thomas Juvenile Services Officer - Juvenile Intake 785-331-1328 mthomas@douglascountyks.org