Skip to contentSkip to navigation

Pretrial Supervision

Pretrial Supervision is one of Douglas County’s alternatives to incarceration programs. Douglas County Pretrial Supervision seeks to reduce incarceration rates due to a person’s inability to pay bond. A pretrial release report, which includes recommended monitoring conditions, is provided to the Judge, district attorney and defense counsel. The recommendations for supervision are made by utilizing a risk assessment tool and scoring praxis developed from evidence based practices. Public safety, as well as a person’s appearance rate in court and criminal risk to reoffend are considered. The Pretrial Release stakeholder’s team, which includes members from the Douglas County judicial community, created the risk assessment and praxis used. The current Pretrial Supervision program has been in operation since October of 2017.

Pretrial Supervision reports are prepared daily (Monday – Friday) for individuals arrested within the previous 24 hours and remain in custody. Those reports are then reviewed by a Judge, who will make the final decision of release. An Adult Services Officer is present at the Douglas County Jail for first appearance hearings should pretrial supervision be approved.

Douglas County Pretrial Supervision Services offers monitoring by phone, in person, and electronic devices. If ordered, drug and alcohol testing may be completed. All services with Douglas County Pretrial Supervision are offered at no cost to the client.

Recently, Douglas County Pretrial Supervision implemented an automated court date notification system. The automated system will either call or send text messages with court date reminders to all cases in pretrial status, even if they are not monitored by Douglas County Pretrial Services.

For more information regarding the Douglas County Pretrial Supervision program, contact our office.

Our Services

Pre-Trial Diversion Services

Pre-Trial Diversion Services

Criminal Diversions

Criminal Diversion program.

Department Contacts

Name Job Title Phone Number Email Address
Pam Weigand Director 785-331-1311 pweigand@douglascountyks.org
Holly Myers Assistant Director - Adult Services 785-331-1310 hmyers@douglascountyks.org
Shannon Young Adult Services Supervisor 785-832-5349 syoung@douglascountyks.org
John Lewis Adult Services Officer - Pretrial 785-331-1351 johnlewis@douglascountyks.org
Demetrius Green Adult Services Officer - Pretrial 785-331-1386 dgreen@douglascountyks.org
Joseph Oliver IV Adult Services Officer - Pretrial 785-330-2895 joliver@douglascountyks.org