Skip to contentSkip to navigation

Sheriff's Sale of Foreclosures


Sheriff's Sales of Civil court cases involving foreclosed property are held are held every Thursday promptly at 10:00 am except for holidays or otherwise advertised by the sheriff's office.

Sheriff's Sales are advertised in the local paper three times beginning three weeks before the scheduled sale.

To obtain the legal descriptions, call the Clerk of the District Court at (785) 832-5356, or the County Clerk 's Office at (785) 832-5160, or the County Appraiser's Office at (785) 832-5290. Have the case number associated with the sale ready or the homeowner's name (defendant) or the street address. This will allow the county employees to best serve you.

As an interested party to a Sheriff’s sale, please know you have no legal access to the property. The homeowner has legal possession of the property. Properties are sold ”as is" with no implied or expressed warranty.

The attorney for the Plaintiff (usually the lending institution) makes the opening bid on a Sheriff’s Sale property and then the bidding is open to the public. The property is sold to the highest bidder.

As a successful bidder, you must have the FULL amount of the bid delivered to the Douglas County Clerk of the District Court within 2 hours of the sale. Monies for the sale can be cash, certified check or money orders. Buyers should be prepared to pay the full purchase before the sale.

If there is past due taxes on the property, it is the responsibility of the successful bidder to pay them in order to create a free and clear title.

A redemption period is set for each case by the presiding judge. Most redemption periods are 90 days, but can be 365 days, depending on how much is still owed on the property's loan. During this period, the owner may retain possession of the property if the bid amount and any other associated costs are paid. During the redemption period, the successful bidder has no legal right to access the property and the defendant can still reside and maintain possession of the property.

Pleaese note that cancellation of sale on a piece of property can happen up until the advertised sale. The Douglas County Sheriff's Office, nor the Douglas County District Court, has any control over these cancellation events.

For more information regarding Sheriff Sales, please contact the Douglas County Sheriff's Office at 785-841-0007.

Department Contacts

Name Job Title Phone Number Email Address
Douglas A. Hamilton Clerk of the District Court dhamilton@douglascountyks.org
Amber Ballard Supervisor / Jury Manager 785-832-5111 aballard@douglascountyks.org
Rachel Lavelle Supervisor 785-832-5255 rlavelle@douglascountyks.org
Evie Schlife Accounting Technician 785-832-5252 eschlife@douglascountyks.org
Beverly Sigafoose Juvenile Clerk 785-832-5253 bsigafoose@douglascountyks.org
Brian Garton Jury Clerk 785-832-5213 jury@douglascountyks.org
Cindy Winger Traffic Clerk 785-832-5231 cwinger@douglascountyks.org
Emily Krichati Domestic Clerk / Marriage License / PFA Administrative Assistant 785-832-5227 ekrichati@douglascountyks.org
Jordan Moore Records / Juvenile Clerk 785-832-5141 jmoore@douglascountyks.org
Kassandra Meyer Limited Civil Clerk 785-832-5257 kmeyer@douglascountyks.org
Michael Preut Criminal Clerk 785-832-5236 mpreut@douglascountyks.org
Stephanie Weeks Major Civil Clerk 785-832-5228 sweeks@douglascountyks.org
Brenda Hensley-Hughes Probate / Adoptions Clerk 785-832-5132
Rachell Orce Appeals / Small Claims / Liens Clerk 785-832-5254
Civil civil@douglascountyks.org
Criminal criminal@douglascountyks.org
Records courtrecords@douglascountyks.org
Jury Service Recording 785-832-5108