Skip to contentSkip to navigation

Info 211

How Do I...

X

Court Payments


Your payments may be handled by the Clerk of the District Court or by the Court Trustee. How do you know which?

1.    You are being supervised by a Court Services or Community Corrections probation officer and your probation officer sent you to our office for a payment plan; 
2.    The Judge that heard your case sent you to our office for a payment plan;
3.    You appeared for traffic court and the DA’s office sent you to our office for a payment plan; OR
4.    You received a letter from our office advising of your court ordered obligations and the need to contact us to make payment arrangements.

If you do not know whether or not your case has been referred to the Trustee please call us at 785-832-5315 to confirm.

Court Trustee no longer collect victim restitution. Any amount owed for restitution must be paid directly to the Clerk of the District Court.

Visit Court Trustee Payments page

Cash payments, checks, money orders, debit card payments or credit card payments (Visa, MasterCard, or Discover) can be made in person in the office of the Clerk of the District Court or over the phone (call Court Clerk at 785-832-5256). Transaction fees are assessed with credit card or debit card payments (currently 4% of total transaction). You should reference your case number(s) on any check or money order mailed. You can make on-line payments in traffic cases (see Traffic Cases below) if the balance due is being paid in full.

  • Clerk of District Court
  • Criminal Division
  • 111 E. 11th Street, Unit 5
  • Lawrence KS 66044-2966
  • 8:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. (noon) and 1:00 p.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday - Friday
  • closed for lunch (12:00 p.m. - 1:00 p.m.)
  • closed on holidays

If you have a traffic case, you may make payments (credit or debit card or electronic check) online using CitePayUSA.com. There is a service fee with any online payment, currently 4% of the costs assessed. For more information, go to https://www.CitePayUSA.com. To find your traffic records, you will need to select "Kansas" as your state and "Douglas County District Court" as your court. Online payments are only available for traffic cases and no partial payments are allowed. This service is available 24/7.

Department Contacts

Name Job Title Phone Number Email Address
Douglas A. Hamilton Clerk of the District Court dhamilton@douglascountyks.org
Amber Ballard Supervisor / Jury Manager 785-832-5111 aballard@douglascountyks.org
Michael Preut Supervisor 785-832-5255 mpreut@douglascountyks.org
Evie Schlife Accounting Technician 785-832-5252 eschlife@douglascountyks.org
Beverly Sigafoose Juvenile Clerk 785-832-5253 bsigafoose@douglascountyks.org
Brian Garton Jury Clerk 785-832-5213 jury@douglascountyks.org
Cindy Winger Traffic / Small Claims Clerk 785-832-5231 cwinger@douglascountyks.org
Stephanie Weeks Domestic Clerk / Marriage License / PFA Administrative Assistant 785-832-5227 sweeks@douglascountyks.org
Jordan Moore Records / Juvenile Clerk 785-832-5141 jmoore@douglascountyks.org
Brogan Sievers Limited Civil Clerk 785-832-5257 bsievers@douglascountyks.org
Madeline Backus Criminal / Expungements Clerk 785-832-5236 mbackus@douglascountyks.org
Brenda Hensley-Hughes Probate / Adoptions Clerk 785-832-5132 bhensley@douglascountyks.org
Rachell Orcé Appeals / Liens Clerk 785-832-5254 rorce@douglascountyks.org
Civil 785-832-5228 civil@douglascountyks.org
Criminal criminal@douglascountyks.org
Records courtrecords@douglascountyks.org
Jury Service Recording 785-832-5108