Skip to contentSkip to navigation

Getting an Expungement

Getting an expungement in the District Court of Douglas County, Kansas.

An expungement is the legal process of asking a judge to seal the court record of a previous criminal (or juvenile) offense. It is important to remember that, in Kansas, an expunged record is NOT destroyed. The police, FBI, immigration officers, and other public officials may still see sealed court files for certain purposes.

To view the statute that governs who does and does not qualify for an expungement, please refer to the website below.

The filing fee is $195 per case. If you need to find out the case number and division for your case, please contact mpreut@douglascountyks.org.

To begin the filing process, visit: http://www.kansasjudicialcouncil.org/legal-forms/expungement-adult  There you will find instructions for filing, and a list of the required forms.  When you are ready to file, bring your paperwork and the filing fee (check/cash/money order) to the District Court Clerk's Office in the basement of the Judicial and Law Enforcement Center.  Be sure to have your petition notarized beforehand, or if you would like the clerk to notarize it, bring your photo ID with you.  Once you've filed your petition, the clerk will direct you to the appropriate division to request a hearing date.  You will need to appear at the hearing and bring a completed order of expungement for the judge to sign.

Our Services

Court Records

Records request services for cases in the 7th Judicial District.

Clerk of the District Court

District Court

The 7th Judicial District of the District Court of Douglas County, Kansas.

Courts

Services provided by the 7th Judicial District of the District Court.

Crimes and Justice

Services offered by the District Attorney's Office of Douglas County, Kansas.

Department Contacts

Name Job Title Phone Number Email Address
Douglas A. Hamilton Clerk of the District Court dhamilton@douglascountyks.org
Amber Ballard Supervisor / Jury Manager / Appeals 785-832-5111 aballard@douglascountyks.org
Rachel Lavelle Supervisor / Liens 785-832-5255 rlavelle@douglascountyks.org
Evie Schlife Accounting Technician / Probate 785-832-5252 eschlife@douglascountyks.org
Beverly Sigafoose Juvenile / Adoptions 785-832-5253 bsigafoose@douglascountyks.org
Brian Garton Jury Clerk 785-832-5213 jury@douglascountyks.org
Cindy Winger Traffic 785-832-5231 cwinger@douglascountyks.org
Emily Krichati Domestic / PFA Administrative Assistant 785-832-5227 ekrichati@douglascountyks.org
Jordan Moore Records / Juvenile 785-832-5141 jmoore@douglascountyks.org
Kassandra Meyer Limited Civil 785-832-5257 kmeyer@douglascountyks.org
Michael Preut Criminal 785-832-5236 mpreut@douglascountyks.org
Stephanie Weeks Small Claims / Major Civil 785-832-5228 sweeks@douglascountyks.org
Civil civil@douglascountyks.org
Criminal criminal@douglascountyks.org
Records courtrecords@douglascountyks.org
Jury Service Recording 785-832-5108

An expungement is the legal process of asking a judge to seal the court record of a previous criminal (or juvenile) offense. It is important to remember that, in Kansas, an expunged record is NOT destroyed. The police, FBI, immigration officers, and other public officials may still see sealed court files for certain purposes.

To view the statute that governs who does and does not qualify for an expungement, please refer to the website below.

The filing fee is $195 per case. If you need to find out the case number and division for your case, please contact mpreut@douglascountyks.org.

To begin the filing process, visit: http://www.kansasjudicialcouncil.org/legal-forms/expungement-adult  There you will find instructions for filing, and a list of the required forms.  When you are ready to file, bring your paperwork and the filing fee (check/cash/money order) to the District Court Clerk's Office in the basement of the Judicial and Law Enforcement Center.  Be sure to have your petition notarized beforehand, or if you would like the clerk to notarize it, bring your photo ID with you.  Once you've filed your petition, the clerk will direct you to the appropriate division to request a hearing date.  You will need to appear at the hearing and bring a completed order of expungement for the judge to sign.