Skip to contentSkip to navigation

How do I get copies of documents in case files, and what are the related fees?

You may fill out a Records Request Form by visiting the Clerk's office in person, or by submitting an Online Records Request Form. To submit your Records Request Form, you can mail it to Clerk of the District Court's Office - Records Dept., 111 E. 11th St., Lawrence, Kansas 66044. You may also fax a records request to 785-832-5258, or you may email your request to Cindy Winger at courtrecords@douglascountyks.org. There is a 24-48 hour turnaround time on most requests for records. The costs of copying and certifying public records by the Clerk of the District Court's office are set forth below:

Costs for Copies & Certification of Public Records
Type of RecordFees
Copies$0.25/page
Certifications$1.00/document
Authentications$2.00/document
Shipping & Handling (for out-of-County requests)$1.00
Faxed Copies (local)$1.00/page
Faxed Copies (long distance)$2.00/page

 

Department Contacts

Name Job Title Phone Number Email Address
Douglas A. Hamilton Clerk of the District Court dhamilton@douglascountyks.org
Amber Ballard Supervisor / Jury Manager 785-832-5111 aballard@douglascountyks.org
Rachel Lavelle Supervisor 785-832-5255 rlavelle@douglascountyks.org
Evie Schlife Accounting Technician 785-832-5252 eschlife@douglascountyks.org
Beverly Sigafoose Juvenile Clerk 785-832-5253 bsigafoose@douglascountyks.org
Brian Garton Jury Clerk 785-832-5213 jury@douglascountyks.org
Cindy Winger Traffic Clerk 785-832-5231 cwinger@douglascountyks.org
Emily Krichati Domestic Clerk / Marriage License / PFA Administrative Assistant 785-832-5227 ekrichati@douglascountyks.org
Jordan Moore Records / Juvenile Clerk 785-832-5141 jmoore@douglascountyks.org
Kassandra Meyer Limited Civil Clerk 785-832-5257 kmeyer@douglascountyks.org
Michael Preut Criminal Clerk 785-832-5236 mpreut@douglascountyks.org
Stephanie Weeks Major Civil Clerk 785-832-5228 sweeks@douglascountyks.org
Brenda Hensley-Hughes Probate / Adoptions Clerk 785-832-5132
Rachell Orce Appeals / Small Claims / Liens Clerk 785-832-5254
Civil civil@douglascountyks.org
Criminal criminal@douglascountyks.org
Records courtrecords@douglascountyks.org
Jury Service Recording 785-832-5108