Skip to contentSkip to navigation

How can I get out of jury service?

Kansas Statute Section 43-155 states –”The public policy of this state is declared to be that jury service is the solemn obligation of all qualified citizens, and that excuses from the discharge of this responsibility should be granted by the judges of the courts of this state only for reasons of compelling personal hardship or because requiring service would be contrary to the public welfare, health or safety.”  If you feel that that serving as a juror would be a hardship or is contrary to the public’s welfare, health or safety, you can request excusal only by completing your Juror Questionnaire.  Instructions on how to fill out your questionnaire is located on the Juror Summons paperwork you should have received in the mail.  If you have any questions, please contact the Jury Coordinator at Jury@douglascountyks.org or call 785-832-5213.

Department Contacts

Name Job Title Phone Number Email Address
Douglas A. Hamilton Clerk of the District Court dhamilton@douglascountyks.org
Amber Ballard Supervisor / Jury Manager 785-832-5111 aballard@douglascountyks.org
Rachel Lavelle Supervisor 785-832-5255 rlavelle@douglascountyks.org
Evie Schlife Accounting Technician 785-832-5252 eschlife@douglascountyks.org
Beverly Sigafoose Juvenile Clerk 785-832-5253 bsigafoose@douglascountyks.org
Brian Garton Jury Clerk 785-832-5213 jury@douglascountyks.org
Cindy Winger Traffic Clerk 785-832-5231 cwinger@douglascountyks.org
Emily Krichati Domestic Clerk / Marriage License / PFA Administrative Assistant 785-832-5227 ekrichati@douglascountyks.org
Jordan Moore Records / Juvenile Clerk 785-832-5141 jmoore@douglascountyks.org
Kassandra Meyer Limited Civil Clerk 785-832-5257 kmeyer@douglascountyks.org
Michael Preut Criminal Clerk 785-832-5236 mpreut@douglascountyks.org
Stephanie Weeks Major Civil Clerk 785-832-5228 sweeks@douglascountyks.org
Brenda Hensley-Hughes Probate / Adoptions Clerk 785-832-5132
Rachell Orce Appeals / Small Claims / Liens Clerk 785-832-5254
Civil civil@douglascountyks.org
Criminal criminal@douglascountyks.org
Records courtrecords@douglascountyks.org
Jury Service Recording 785-832-5108