Skip to contentSkip to navigation

Do I have to appear in court for my traffic citation?

If you are charged with a misdemeanor traffic offense, you must appear in court. Seat belt violations do not require a court appearance, even though they are often marked as misdemeanors on the tickets. If you were charged with no proof of insurance, but you had insurance at the time of the stop, you should contact the DA's office at 785-832-5321 in advance of your court date to provide them with your insurance information. They will then let you know if you need to appear in court or not.

If all charges on your ticket are infractions, you are not required to appear in court provided you plead guilty or no contest and pay the fine and costs by the date indicated on your ticket. If you wish to contest the charge, you must appear and plead not guilty. A trial date will then be set.

Our Services

Traffic Tickets

Information about traffic tickets issues in Douglas County, Kansas.

Clerk of the District Court

Traffic

Information and resources for traffic tickets and diversions.

Department Contacts

Name Job Title Phone Number Email Address
Douglas A. Hamilton Clerk of the District Court dhamilton@douglascountyks.org
Amber Ballard Supervisor / Jury Manager / Appeals 785-832-5111 aballard@douglascountyks.org
Rachel Lavelle Supervisor / Liens 785-832-5255 rlavelle@douglascountyks.org
Evie Schlife Accounting Technician / Probate 785-832-5252 eschlife@douglascountyks.org
Beverly Sigafoose Juvenile / Adoptions 785-832-5253 bsigafoose@douglascountyks.org
Brian Garton Jury Clerk 785-832-5213 jury@douglascountyks.org
Cindy Winger Traffic 785-832-5231 cwinger@douglascountyks.org
Emily Krichati Domestic / PFA Administrative Assistant 785-832-5227 ekrichati@douglascountyks.org
Jordan Moore Records / Juvenile 785-832-5141 jmoore@douglascountyks.org
Kassandra Meyer Limited Civil 785-832-5257 kmeyer@douglascountyks.org
Michael Preut Criminal 785-832-5236 mpreut@douglascountyks.org
Stephanie Weeks Small Claims / Major Civil 785-832-5228 sweeks@douglascountyks.org
Civil civil@douglascountyks.org
Criminal criminal@douglascountyks.org
Records courtrecords@douglascountyks.org
Jury Service Recording 785-832-5108