Skip to content Skip to navigation


The Criminal Justice Coordinating Council (CJCC) was established by the Board of County Commissioners of Douglas County on March 9, 2016.
Robert Bieniecki, left, meets with researchers hired to conduct the Law Enforcement Contact Study.Purpose:

The purpose of the Criminal Justice Coordinating Council is to provide a working forum to support communications and collaborative coordination between and among key criminal justice system officials, advisory bodies, agencies, departments and community leaders to promote public health, public safety and an effective, fair and efficient criminal justice system in our community.

Read the CJCC bylaws for more information.

Criminal Justice Coordinator, Robert Bieniecki:

Robert Bieniecki retired as a Captain from the Johnson County Kansas Sheriff's Office in April 2015, following 20 years of service. Prior to his service with Johnson County, Robert served for 10 years on active duty with the United States Navy. He subsequently served an additional 12 years with the Naval Reserve and retired with 22 total years of service in 2004. Robert holds a Bachelor's Degree in General Studies with a concentration in law enforcement from Fort Hays State University. He attended the FBI National Academy in 2012 and earned a Graduate Certificate with a focus on leadership. Robert currently lives in Tonganoxie, Kansas with his wife Deborah.

CJCC Members:
  • Michelle Derusseau- Douglas County Commissioner

  • Judge Peggy Kittel- Chief Judge of the Seventh District

  • Ken McGovern- Douglas County Sheriff

  • Charles Branson- District Attorney

  • Shaye L. Downing- Criminal Defense Attorney from the Douglas County Bar, appointed by the Douglas County Commission

  • Gregory Burns- Lawrence Police Chief

  • Scott Miller- Lawrence Municipal Judge

  • Pam Weigand (Chair) - Director of Douglas County Youth Services

  • Patrick Schmitz- Executive Director of Bert Nash

  • Lori Alvarado- Executive Director of DCCCA

  • Emily Hail - Community Representative, appointed by County Commissioner Derusseau

  • Edith Guffey (Vice Chair) - Community Representative, appointed by former County Commissioner Gaughan

  • Eunice Ruttinger - Community Representative, appointed by County Commissioner Thellman

  • Charles Epp- Distinguished Professor, University of Kansas School of Public Affairs

  • Jennifer Ananda - City Commissioner

Ex Officio Members:
  • Sarah Plinsky - Interim Douglas County Administrator

  • Tom Markus- Lawrence City Manager

  • Mike Brouwer- Director of Douglas County Reentry

Robert Bieniecki, Criminal Justice Coordinator