Skip to content Skip to navigation

Traffic Tickets FAQ

Do I have to appear in court for my traffic citation?

If you are charged with a misdemeanor traffic offense, you must appear in court. Seat belt violations do not require a court appearance, even though they are often marked as misdemeanors on the tickets. If you were charged with no proof of insurance, but you had insurance at the time of the stop, you should contact the DA's office at 785-832-5321 in advance of your court date to provide them with your insurance information. They will then let you know if you need to appear in court or not.

How can I get more time to pay my ticket?

You may appear in court at the time specified on your ticket to request additional time to pay. Be sure to bring your copy of the ticket to court with you. If you fail to pay in full or appear in court by the date specified on your ticket, the court will send a letter to the address listed on your ticket informing you that you must pay in full within 30 days to avoid suspension of your driving privileges.

If you are charged with a misdemeanor you must appear in court on the date specified on your ticket, but you will not necessarily have to pay anything on that date.

I have found out that my license is suspended for not appearing in court or not paying my fines on time. How can I get my license back?

If you have a Kansas driver's license and were charged with, or convicted of infractions, you will have to pay the total amount that you owe, plus a reinstatement fee of $81.00 per charge on the original ticket. Payment must be in cash, money order, cashier's check or credit card for these costs. The court clerk's office will notify Driver Control once you have met all your obligations and your license will be reinstated. Driver Control will notify you by mail upon reinstatement.

I just want to pay my ticket. Do I have to go to court? What if I want to contest my ticket?

If your ticket requires a court appearance, you must appear in court at the time and date shown at the bottom of your ticket. Failing to appear may result in the suspension of your driving privileges or the issuance of a warrant for your arrest. If your ticket does not require a court appearance, you may avoid coming to court by paying the ticket in full before your court date. Please contact the Clerk of the District Court at 785-832-5356 to confirm whether you must appear. You may mail your payment to the Clerk of the District Court at the address shown on the back of your ticket.

I missed my court appearance. What will happen next?

If you are charged with a misdemeanor, the judge may issue a bench warrant for your arrest. You would then need to contact the Sheriff's department at 785-832-5368 to find out how to take care of the warrant.

If you are charged with an infraction, the court will send a letter to the address listed on your ticket informing you that you must pay in full within 30 days to avoid suspension of your driving privileges.

I received a speeding ticket in Douglas County, Kansas. Is there any way to keep the ticket off my record?

The Douglas County District Attorney's Office offers a Traffic Diversion. If you wish to apply for the Traffic Diversion please visit our office and pick up the application. There is a $25.00 non-refundable application fee due upon filing the Traffic Diversion Application. If you received a speeding ticket within the city limits of Lawrence, please contact:

I want to contest my ticket. What do I do?

If you are charged with an infraction, you must appear in court at the time specified on your ticket and request a trial. A trial date will then be set and the officer who issued the ticket will be summoned to testify at the trial. If the officer is unavailable for that date, the State may seek a continuance, and you will be notified of the new date. The case will not automatically be dismissed if the officer does not appear at the trial.

Is it true that violations of 10 mph or less over the limit are considered non-moving violations?

If you are convicted of driving no more than 10 mph above the limit on a road where the posted speed limit was at least 55 mph; or no more than 6 mph above the limit on a road where the posted speed limit is between 30 and 54 mph, the conviction will not be reported to Driver Control. (See KSA 8-1560c)

What forms of payment does the court accept?

We accept payments by mail in the form of cashier's check, money order or personal check. However, we do not accept personal checks for license reinstatements. You may also pay with a credit card either online at https://www.citepayusa.com/payments/welcome.do?state=KS, or by phone at 832-5231. In addition to checks and money orders, we also accept credit cards or cash if you come to the office. Please be aware that there is a 4% convenience fee added to all credit card payments.

Which courtroom do I appear in?

For traffic cases, you will appear first in the Pro Tem Hearing Room. It is the first courtroom on the right side of the hall on the 1st floor. The Judicial and Law Enforcement Center is located at 111 E. 11th St. in Lawrence. Your name may or may not be on the list posted on the courtroom door, but you may appear in court in either case.