Skip to content Skip to navigation

Emergency Management

Emergency Management Logo

Emergency Management provides a comprehensive emergency management program to effectively mitigate against, prepare for, respond to, and recover from all types of major emergencies or disasters; and to educate and train Douglas County citizens, responders, and governing officials so that a disaster’s impact on people, property, and communities is minimized.

This comprehensive emergency management program includes all four phases of emergency management:

  1. Mitigation
  2. Preparedness
  3. Response
  4. Recovery

Our Services

Emergency Services

Emergency services provided by Douglas County, including 911 and emergency management.

Disaster Response

Providing disaster response to citizens of Douglas County, Kansas.

Emergency Notifications

Emergency Notifications services provided by the county, including IRIS and Smart911.

Awards and Recognition

Awards and recognitions either received or given out by Douglas County, Kansas.

Outdoor Warning Sirens

System of early warning devices to alert citizens outdoors of imminent severe weather.

Timmy the Preparedness Elf

Community education and emergency preparedness.

Volunteer Groups

Volunteer groups for emergency preparedness.

Fire and Burning

Fire and burning information, including fire departments.

Organizations and Committees

Groups that handle planning and preparedness for emergencies, including LEPC.

Department Contacts

Name Job Title Phone Number Email Address
Teri Smith Director 785-838-2460 tsmith@douglas-county.com
Jillian Rodrigue Assistant Director 785-838-2459 jrodrigue@douglas-county.com
David Hogg Planner 785 832-5260 dhogg@douglas-county.com
Robyn Krutz Administrative Secretary 785-832-5259 rkrutz@douglas-county.com
Abby Schletzbaum Emergency Management Intern 785-832-5259 aschletzbaum@douglas-county.com
Steve  Olson Emergency Management Intern 785-832-5259 solson@douglas-county.com
Mark Cairns Duty Officer 785-832-5259 emermgmt@douglas-county.com
Kate Dinneen Duty Officer 785-832-5259 emermgmt@douglas-county.com
Bob Newton Duty Officer/Public Information Officer 785-832-5259 emermgmt@douglas-county.com
Doug Rhoads Mobile Command Vehicle Manager 785-832-5259 emermgmt@douglas-county.com
Will Shockley Mobile Command Vehicle Manager 785-832-5259 emermgmt@douglas-county.com