Skip to contentSkip to navigation

Court Trustee

The office of the Douglas County District Court Trustee was established by the Judges of the Seventh Judicial District in order to expedite the establishment, collection, and disbursement of support orders of the Court (child support and maintenance orders, both temporary and final). A District Court Judge Pro Tem will provide expedited hearings for parent visitation and support matters.

In addition to enforcing support orders, under a contract with the Office of the Attorney General, the Trustee also collects court-ordered court debts and victim restitution in criminal cases referred to the office. The office also collects court debts in traffic cases.

By law, the District Court Trustee is required to be self-supporting without expense to county or state taxpayers. Except for the initial start-up costs provided by the county, all funds for operation come from user fees. The District Court Trustee has proven to be an effective and affordable method for support enforcement.

Our Services

Court Payments

Probation, Traffic, and Unsupervised Payments

Child and Spousal Support

Information on establishing, collecting and disbursing child and spousal support.

Department Contacts

District Court Trustee

Name Job Title Phone Number Email Address
Mary Elizabeth Diaz District Court Trustee 785-832-5315 mbdiaz@douglascountyks.org
Karen Taylor Office Manager 785-838-2403 ktaylor@douglascountyks.org
Front Counter Receptionist 785-832-5315 trustee@douglascountyks.org
John Giele Asst. Court Trustee - Child Support 785-838-2407 jgiele@douglascountyks.org
Vera Gannaway Asst. Court Trustee - Child Support 785-838-2406 vgannaway@douglascountyks.org
Debra Pennington Paralegal - Child Support 785-838-2404 dpennington@douglascountyks.org
Jeanice Corbitt Paralegal - Child Support 785-838-2405 jcorbitt@douglascountyks.org
Sherry Bernhardt Clerk II - Child Support 785-832-5315 sbernhardt@douglascountyks.org
Heather Jackson Paralegal - Criminal/Restitution 785-838-2414 hjackson@douglascountyks.org
Marily Mulingbayan Clerk III - Criminal/Restitution 785-838-2400 mmulingbayan@douglascountyks.org
Caroline Culbertson Clerk II - Traffic 785-838-2401 cculbertson@douglascountyks.org
Sofie Schendel Clerk - Criminal/Restitution 785-832-5315 sschendel@douglascountyks.org