Skip to contentSkip to navigation

Rules of Court


Download: Rule No. 1: Assignment of Cases (PDF format)

Download: Rule No. 2: Court Hours (PDF format)

Download: Rule No. 3: Custody of Court Records (PDF format)

Download: Rule No. 4: Filing Documents in Consolidated Cases (PDF format)

Download: Rule No. 5: Expungement of Sentence/Records (PDF format)

Download: Rule No. 6: Scheduling of Civil Cases (PDF format)

Download: Rule No. 7: Post Judgment Matters (PDF format)

Download: Rule No. 8: Continuances (PDF format)

Download: Rule No. 9: Pretrial Statement (PDF format)

Download: Rule No. 10: Chapter 61 Cases (Limited Civil) (PDF format)

Download: Rule No. 11: Domestic Cases (PDF format)

Download: Rule No. 11.A: Custody Evaluation Distribution (PDF format)

Download: Rule No. 12: Appointed Attorneys (PDF format)

Download: Rule No. 13: Audio, Video, and Photographic Recording of Court Proceedings (PDF format)

Download: Rule No. 14: Judicial Building and Courtroom Security (PDF format)

Download: Rule No. 15: Forms and Pleadings (PDF format)

Download: Rule No. 16: Chambers Copy of Pleadings and Replies to Pleadings (PDF format)

Download: Rule No. 17: Office of the District Court Trustee (PDF format)

Download: Rule No. 18: District Court Hearing Officer (PDF format)

Download: Rule No. 19: Procedure For Extended Juvenile Jurisdiction Prosecution (PDF format)

Download: Rule No. 20: Settlement Conferences (PDF format)

Download: Rule No. 21: Motions for Protective Orders (PDF format)

Download: Rule No. 22: Eviction Cases (PDF format)

Download: Rule No. 23: Courtroom Etiquette (PDF format)

Download: Rule No. 24: Jurors - Excusals and Postponements (PDF format)

Download: Rule No. 25: Garnishments – Orders to Pay In (PDF format)

Download: Rule No. 26: Juvenile Offender and CINC Document Distribution (PDF format)

Download: Rule No. 27: District Court Rules (PDF format)

Download: Appendix A: Receipt for Court File (PDF format)

Download: Appendix B: Receipt for Record on Appeal (PDF format)

Download: Appendix C: Payment Voucher (PDF format)

Download: Appendix D: Court Trustee Information Form (PDF format)

Download: Appendix E: Post-Decree Domestic Relations Affidavit (PDF format)

Download: Appendix F: Domestic Pretrial Questionnaire (PDF format)

Download: Rules of Court (PDF format)

Department Contacts

Name Job Title Phone Number Email Address
Douglas A. Hamilton Clerk of the District Court dhamilton@douglascountyks.org
Amber Ballard Supervisor / Jury Manager 785-832-5111 aballard@douglascountyks.org
Rachel Lavelle Supervisor 785-832-5255 rlavelle@douglascountyks.org
Evie Schlife Accounting Technician 785-832-5252 eschlife@douglascountyks.org
Beverly Sigafoose Juvenile Clerk 785-832-5253 bsigafoose@douglascountyks.org
Brian Garton Jury Clerk 785-832-5213 jury@douglascountyks.org
Cindy Winger Traffic Clerk 785-832-5231 cwinger@douglascountyks.org
Emily Krichati Domestic Clerk / Marriage License / PFA Administrative Assistant 785-832-5227 ekrichati@douglascountyks.org
Jordan Moore Records / Juvenile Clerk 785-832-5141 jmoore@douglascountyks.org
Kassandra Meyer Limited Civil Clerk 785-832-5257 kmeyer@douglascountyks.org
Michael Preut Criminal Clerk 785-832-5236 mpreut@douglascountyks.org
Stephanie Weeks Major Civil Clerk 785-832-5228 sweeks@douglascountyks.org
Brenda Hensley-Hughes Probate / Adoptions Clerk 785-832-5132
Rachell Orce Appeals / Small Claims / Liens Clerk 785-832-5254
Civil civil@douglascountyks.org
Criminal criminal@douglascountyks.org
Records courtrecords@douglascountyks.org
Jury Service Recording 785-832-5108