Skip to content Skip to navigation

Clerk of the District Court

The Clerk of the Court is an officer of the District Court. The clerk issues court processes which establish the power of the court to act in a case and keeps a record of the date and time subpoenas, summons, and warrants are returned to court endorsed with evidence of service on potential litigants and witnesses.

The clerk also issues post-judgment processes which enforce court mandates such as orders of garnishment, income withholding, attachments, execution by sale of personal or real property and the like. The clerk is charged with the critical function of keeping accurate records of the date, time, and manner in which petitions, answers, and motions of parties to a suit are served, received, and filed in the court.

By statute, the clerk of the court is the official custodian of all court records. Because the district court is a court of record, papers received must be carefully preserved for future reference (in case of an appeal) or as a historical record of events as well as the basis for changes in property or liberty rights. The clerk also ensures access to court records that are open to the public. The clerk is in charge of collecting, accounting for, and forwarding to the state treasurer's office money due to the state by operation of law. Besides managing finances, the clerk also supervises personnel matters in his or her office and coordinates case management activities of the district court.

The clerk's jury management duties include insuring that summoning procedures are cost-effective yet meet the needs of the court with minimum disruption to the lives of the jurors summoned. Other managerial functions of the clerk include preparing payrolls, ensuring the latest version of forms are used and, in courts which have law libraries, acting as treasurer for the law library board.

Our Services

Court Records

Records request services for cases in the 7th Judicial District.

Traffic Tickets

Information about traffic tickets issues in Douglas County, Kansas.

Jury Duty

Resources for potential and current jurors.

Protection Orders

Information on getting Protection Orders against abuse and stalking.

Marriage and Divorce

Marriage licenses, ceremonies, and options for custody and divorce cases.

Small Claims

Small claims cases for less than $4,000.

Rules and Procedures

Rules and procedures for the District Court.

Department Contacts

Name Job Title Email Address
Douglas A. Hamilton Clerk of the District Court dhamilton@douglas-county.com
Jacy Wolfe Criminal/Traffic Supervisor traffic@douglas-county.com
Grant Ridgway Civil gridgway@douglas-county.com
Deana Sage Court Records courtrecords@douglas-county.com
Donna Hughes Domestic dhughes@douglas-county.com
Sandra Walls Juvenile swalls@douglas-county.com
Amber Ballard Jury jury@douglas-county.com
Reece Petrik Liens rpetrik@douglas-county.com
Michael Preut Limited Civil mpreut@douglas-county.com
Evie Schlife Probate eschlife@douglas-county.com
Cindy Winger Small Claims cwinger@douglas-county.com
Traffic Traffic Questions traffic@douglas-county.com